100 Days of Gratitude: Day 83

Allegedly there are only 2 constants in this world – death and taxes. But that’s not correct, there is another (well probably lots more, but we’ll them out of this!) and that is change.

Everything changes, constantly – you are changing constantly – cells die and new cells are created constantly…eventually you are a whole new person…many, many times over!

The greek philosophers were right onto it;

Plato reckoned ‘Everything changes and nothing stands still’

Plutarch knew that ‘you cannot step twice into the same rivers’

How people deal with change can be fascinating, it can bring out the best and the worst in people, some people embrace it, some are totally threatened or fearful of it – If you’ve ever made a big life change, did you get some unexpected reactions from the people around you? Did some try and derail your change? Who supported you in that change?

ten-tall-tales-climate-change-skeptics-29-Jun-11

Working at RMIT on an enterprise wide system change, we’ve seen every reaction you can imagine – people who have been doing the same thing for 40 years (!!!!) grumble and complain or get aggressive and intractable ‘well it won’t work for me’. Others have been all for it and want it yesterday and of course there’s been everything in between. I’m really enjoying working on this project probably because it’s a challenge in adapting to all these variety of attitudes, there’s plenty of different tentacles and branches  to the project that I hop between, have to investigate and burrow into all requiring different skills which keeps  me interested. Usually I get bored with a contract after about 3 weeks – once the novelty of the change has worn off and it becomes the ‘norm’…then I’m counting down the months until I can change contracts!

That’s why I contract, so that I can change job types, places, get to know new people, learn new skills, processes and businesses. It’s why I always have new interests and projects on the go.

In the last few years. Change has been one of my few constants.

I guess you could say I’m a bit of a changeaphile…which I’m very grateful for. I don’t think I’d like being changephobic and worried, fearful or distrustful of what might be around the next corner.

you can’t avoid change – its everywhere!

 

change-same

Love to hear your thoughts!

