100 Days of Gratitude: Day 49

yoda-star-wars-mentor-007

I’ve talked about mentoring on a number of occasions and as you  know I’m a big fan of it both as a mentor to people myself and a mentee

Why?

Because a good mentor can put themselves in your shoes, see your issues, sticking points, goals and ideas and then guide you in the direction that is most effective for you. They don’t do the work for you, so it won’t necessarily diminish what you have to do in order to get to your goal, but they should be able to provide you with clear perspective and direction so that you tackle the most important stuff first. Having said that, they will point out tasks that may not gain you anything, which means you can eliminate wasteful time and be more efficient…ultimately, in theory achieving your goal more quickly…

win, win , win!

They also won’t buy into your bullshit excuses as to why you haven’t done something – a good mentor will call you out and show you what it is that you are doing unconsciously to sabotage your own progress – we all do it, and yes I consider myself an expert on avoidance too…especially when it comes to salesy, marketingy, promotion type stuff, I can find a million other things that are waaay more important…

which is why I now have a business mentor.

which is why I have a  training mentor – yes I do consider Aiden a mentor, because when I started working with him I had no idea about training – reps, sets, intensity, hypertrophy, HIIT, power training, strength training, supersets, dropsets – it was all completely confusing, overwhelming, too much information – I had no idea how to organise or structure it, so I was on the verge of giving up altogether. Now it all makes perfect sense, because as a good mentor, Aiden has taken the time to explain what it all means and why we do it. Could I have built my physique up so much in such a short space of time without Aiden’s guidance and assistance? Not a chance.

So today I am grateful for my mentors – past and present and I’m sure there will be future mentors as well who will take me on whatever journey I happen to be on at the time.

If you don’t have a mentor, and you’re not where you want to be or achieving what you want to achieve or are stuck – go find a mentor! Look for someone who is doing what you want to do has got to where you want to go and just ask!

It up to you grasshopper…

Love to hear your thoughts!

