100 Days of Gratitude: Day 32

Me-time

I have not had a day off work and ‘work’ for the whole of May. In fact May has been so full on, that I have about 2 weeks of ‘work’ in the backlog!

What do I mean by ‘work’ – blogging, writing (I owe David Salamon a show write up – it’s coming soon! Promise!) photographs to process from all the shows I’ve been to (every weekend for the last 4weekends!), helping out backstage and now taking on comp prep clients.

Don’t get me wrong I’m not bitching about this, It is all my own choice is stuff that I thoroughly enjoy and would like to make what I do full time ultimately.

Throw in my own comp prep and training and free time is a concept that no longer exists – all of you who have kids know exactly what I’m talking about!

That is why it is so important for everybody for their own health (sanity?) to carve a small slice of time out of their busy schedules, preferably once a week if you can manage it, for a bit of complete ‘me’ time. No it’s not selfish, so do not give yourself a guilt trip about it – if you don’t look after yourself and run yourself into the ground, how can you possibly look after those who mean the most to you?

I’ll give you an example. As you know I am mentoring a student…in theory…we haven’t actually met yet, because she has cancelled twice. She is a single mum, has no friends or family in Melbourne, is studying full time..and she keeps getting sick.
I suspect that she is so overwhelmed that she feels she can’t take time out even for just an hour a week (her ex hubby can look after her son) to rest, do nothing, find a cafe and grab a coffee and do nothing for a short while. In her emails she sounds completely stressed out, helpless, in dire need of support, but also angry and frustrated. Getting sick and having to stay home in bed is the only way her body can make her get some rest.

I’m supposed to be mentoring her about the IT Industry, but I’m beginning to think that it might be more life coaching and support that she actually needs. Fortunately I have the training to be that person for her.

With myself, most of this year I’ve also been in a bit of a state of overwhelm and confusion about what I’m doing and where I’m going. Again, I’m glad that I have the training and understanding of how to get myself out of such a state and I’m now in a very good space where things seem so much clearer, and stuff is just falling into place. Maybe it’s the gratefuls, who knows, but one thing I always do and will not give up is that tiny slice of complete ‘me’ time.

My ‘me’ time is brekky. It’s my weekend ritual and even on comp prep I make it fit, it’s that important to me.
I’ve also started adding other little ‘me’ times this month – a weekly massage at the RMIT clinic ($20for a full hour!!) and they’ve been perfect in helping me stay clear minded, focused and despite the busyness, remarkably unstressed.

So today I am grateful for ‘me’ time…

and if you look at the word ‘time’, there is both an ‘I’ and a ‘ME’ in it…

use it well!

I highly recommend it 🙂

Love to hear your thoughts!

