100 Days of Gratitude: Day 6

There is a homeless guy that I see several times a week at various locations in the city. He is sitting in his spot, knees drawn up balancing a drawing pad on his thighs. He is concentrating hard on colouring in a drawing, which for him is quite a hard task to do because both of his hands are curled inwards from the wrist, his fingers almost making a fist. What the disease or condition is that might cause this I don’t know.

If  you’re like me you probably have a pocket or part of your bag where you just put your small change – it accumulates, and probably becomes your coffee fund. Well since I stopped buying coffee, I’ve stopped spending it, so today I stopped by the homeless man and fished out a fistful of coins and put it in his hat. It is much better in his hat than my bag and he will be able to afford something to eat today.

Today I am grateful for many things:

I am grateful that I have full use of my hands

I am grateful that I have a roof over my head

I am grateful that I have a job that pays me so I can afford food and the roof over my head

I am grateful that I can go home and be warm and dry

I am grateful that I can afford to eat whenever I like and what ever I like (well, coaliac allowing)

I am grateful that I have a change of clothes

I am grateful that I don’t have to sit on a cold street being ignored by the world.

 

Love to hear your thoughts!

