16 weeks to go – Superwoman!

Last time I spoke to you I was sitting in a delightful old converted farmhouse somewhere in Tuscany gazing out over vineyards and olives groves…it was wonderful, and what a difference a few weeks off and getting some decent medical advice along with a solution that actually works, makes. I feel like a completely new person.

My holiday was excellent – it was great to catch up with my entire family which hasn’t happened for over 3 years. I relaxed, did nothing, slept, did not train, ate mostly clean, tramped around 800 year old hill towns, photographed and shopped…for winter clothes (it was freezing over there!) Just what I needed.

The oestrogen/progesterone tablets that this new doc has got me on, kicked in within a few days and I felt a sense of calmness and togetherness that I haven’t felt for probably about 2-3 years now. In fact the more I look at the ups and downs and what I’ve been through in the last 3 – 4 years I’m starting to wonder if low oestrogen levels have been an underlying factor all the way through – I feel that much better. At first I thought it might just be the holiday and the fact the I was de-stressed, not working all hours on 6 different things – but now that I’m back, I’m straight back into working a job, training hard, comp prep, posing practice, posing routine practice, writing, the magazine, blogging and photography (did you see my photos of Arnie? I had a blast getting those!) – yet now it all seems so easy – I’m engaged and switched on at work (seriously can’t believe I didn’t get sacked!), I don’t need my nanna naps after training, even though my sleep patterns are shocking right now, the absolute exhaustion and overwhelm is gone, nothing is bothering me – I feel like I can handle anything that is thrown at me now. Such a contrast to just 5 weeks ago when I felt like I was coming apart at the seams.

And even better is that without trying I’ve lost 3kg in 5 weeks, 1.5kg of which was whilst on holiday when I didn’t do any training at all – nothing, for 2 weeks…unless shopping counts as low intensity cardio that is J

Drop the stress, drop the fat???

I had skin folds done on Friday and I’ve leaned down everywhere on my upper body – which is completely obvious! But bizarrely enough I put fat ON my legs…that is not a good thing and I’m wondering if it might be due to the oestrogen pills. Aiden doesn’t seem particularly bothered by that at the moment, so I’m going to trust his judgement and try not to worry about it.

Comp prep is right on track at the moment, training is going really well – just 4 or 5 resistance sessions a week, no official cardio yet, but I did do some hill sprints yesterday, because I only trained 3 times last week!

That’s probably a bit too laid back so need to get into a good routine this week. The blood injection doesn’t appear to have had any effect whatsoever on my elbow and both are as bad as they were before I went away. But I’m not going to waste any more time, effort and money on trying to get them fixed, I’ll just live with it until I’ve finished competing when I will re-assess the situation and determine what to do then.

I’m still eating a good amount of food – 180g raw weight protein/meal, 100-150g raw weight carbs/meal, as much green stuff/veggies as I like, 15 almonds a day and casein + almond butter for bedtime snack.

And Friday is Pizza night J

This averages out at about 2200-2400 calories/day (except for Friday!) and I’ll stay on this level until I stop losing fat.

With regard to posing, the theory is that I do half an hour routine practice a night, followed by posing along to the female categories of an entire show – this is usually another 30 – 40 minutes. I managed 3 nights last week, so again need to lift my game a little this week.

The other thing I want to fix is my sleep. It’s terrible! I crash out like a light, then wake up for 2-3 hours before snatching maybe another hour before I get up for training. This is definitely not ideal and the fact that I haven’t needed a nanna nap during the day shows how much better my energy levels are.

What I’m trying at the moment is a Poliquin solution – Magnesium and Phospatidyl Serine (a cortisol blocker). Then I’ve added in an ayurvedic remedy containing valerian and hops which both work to calm the CNS. I’ve only been on the ayurvedic remedy for the last 2 days and I think its working – last night I crashed out as usual (about 9:30pm), but the next time I looked at the clock it was 4:04am – that’s 7 hours sleep!

No wonder I trained like a mad thing today and am still bouncing off the walls!

I’m thoroughly enjoying seeing myself shrink and can’t wait to see what I’m going to look like. Last time I competed, it was 10 weeks from ‘I think I’m going to try this bodybuilding thing’ to stepping on stage – it was a complete whirlwind that swept me along without a clue where it was going. This time round I want to enjoy the process, be more relaxed about it. I know so much more about eating correctly and nutrition that if I go out for dinner or breakfast I know how to make it work for me, I don’t feel like I need to shut myself away in case there’s no friendly food. I’m an old hand at taking an entire days food with me or comp friendly snacks in case I get caught out – I know how to be prepared!

I know when I can or can’t skip training and how to make it up without beating myself up, this is going to make the process a lot easier.

All in all, things are going in the right direction, long may it continue!

Love to hear your thoughts!

