My Competition Diet

Now that I’ve calmed down a bit, having said how easy I found it to get lean for comp, I thought it might be a good idea to put up my exact diet as a guideline  – I’ll add the big caveat here that this works for me. Body Composition wise I am almost a perfect mesomorph so the high protein approach works for me. It might not work for you, an I’m certainly not telling you that this is what you should do. If you want to follow it, thats your call..

I lost 3.2kg, 5% body fat and I even put on about 0.25kg muscle (I had 4 dexa scans in 10 weeks to check my progress). I hit the stage at 51.5kg 5.7% body fat at the Vic titles and 7 weeks later I was holding at 50.5kg, 5% body fat

This is the 10 weeks out version, at 7 weeks out the afternoon apple was removed, at 5 weeks out the lunch carbs were removed, at 3 weeks out the brekky carbs were reduced to 50g weight:

On comp day, I had the ‘normal brekky’ at 5:30am, at 9:30am I had the ‘normal’ mid morning snack. It was only at 12 that I switched to comp day carbs – rice cakes, honey, almond butter, blueberry jam and strawberries.

Oh I was drinking 7 litres of water right up to about 9pm on the day before comp. Then on comp day I drank 0.5l – 100ml at brekky, 100ml at mid morning meal, 150ml after pumping up for 1st category, 150ml after pumping up for 2nd category. Then I was allowed a bonus 100ml because I got to the overall final.

 1400 Cal / day Menu – P: 52% F:29% C: 19%

Meal 1 (approx 250cal):

100g chicken + 100g brown rice (cooked)/sweet potato

OR

30g (dry) oats or Quinoa Flakes, 1 tablespoon LSA, 1 Scoop Protein powder, Stevia/Cinnamon to taste

Meal 2 (approx 300cal):

185g tin Tuna in oil (approx 140g tuna)

1 small green salad (approx 100g dark green leaves) +  uddo’s oil or flaxseed oil vinaigrette

Meal 3 (approx 330 cal) :

125g Lamb /beef or 150g Chicken/turkey or white fish

100g cooked sweet potato or brown rice

300g greek salad – dark green leaves, red capsicum, red onion, tomatoes, cucumber + uddo’s oil or flaxseed oil vinaigrette

Meal 4  (approx 175 cal):

100g Chicken

1 medium apple

Meal 5 (approx 250 cal):

175g white fish

300g mixed steamed veg – Broccoli, Zucchini, Snow Peas, Mushrooms, Asparagus

Late Night Snack (approx 150cal)

Tablespoon organic almond spread

1 PWO Shake /day – up to 125cal

Thats it – very simple and it works…for me.

Related Posts:

Lindy Lunch Lessons

Off Season Plan

Food Diary 7 – 10 Dec 2011

Pride Cometh Before…Rebound!

Love to hear your thoughts!

