Lindy’s Lunch Lesson

Its been 2 weeks since the ANB Get The Edge Worskop where Lindy Olsen very kindly told us her entire comp prep diet and like I said in my write up, that information alone is worth more than the ticket price. I also wrote a previous blog about the importance of having an off season eating plan to stop you blowing out after comp and piling on too much weight, which has the potential for long term health effects. I detailed how despite my best efforts of wanting to stay within 10% of comp weight I overshot somewhat and have since Christams been on a modified comp diet to get back to 55kg. My plan has been working – in 6 weeks I’ve lost 2.5kg, a perfect sustainable rate of loss – and this is with virtually no exercise. So I’m really happy with that. In the last 2 weeks though I hit a plateau, I got stuck at 56.7 – 56.9kg. Now in order to break through that plateau I was going to have to change something. Normally I would increase my exercise levels, but that is not an option for me right now – I had blood injections in my elbow last week and cortisone in my hammy yesterday, I’m not even allowed to walk for the next week let alone walk the 6k to the gym – so scratch increasing exercise levels. This leaves the only other option – tweak my diet.

Now this is where head space is so important – prevailing wisdom says cut the calories – in fact there’s an ad on TV right now that makes my blood boil it talks about Very Low Calorie Diets as being the best way to lose weight fast – idoits! 2 shakes a day + 1 meal??? fast track to fatsville!!

sorry it really makes me angry.

anyway – I didnt really want to cut calories – I’m averaging 1400-1500/day as it is so I thought, ‘you know what? I’ll try Lindy’s diet’

Now the thing that struck me about Lindys diet is the sheer volume of food she was eating – I couldn’t believe it 350g salad/veggies 4 times a day AND every 9th meal you get to eat whatever you like – thats right, up to 600 calories in a single meal!!! it totally flies in the face of ‘conventional’ wisdom!

(feel free to insert acidic derogatory comment of choice about conventional wisdom 🙂 )

Now I always like to use myself as a guinea pig – if I’m going to recommend anything to anyone, then I like to know that I’ve done it first.

Well thats whats I’ve done. In the last 2 weeks I’ve put myself on Lindy’s diet – same 100-120g protein/meal, about 300g salad/green veg at 4 meals/day and every 9th meal go nuts! I’ve had spag bol 3 times, chocolate twice (that a lot for me – trying to get the calories up!)m slices of toast with honey at night!

I’m an eating machine!

People at work see my morning snack and comment ‘bit early for lunch’, then when they see my lunch and ask ‘eating for 2?’ to which I generally reply ‘no, eating for 1/2’

and its working! after the 1st week I was 56.7 kg and then yesterday breakthrough! 55.9kg !

thats nearly 1kg in a week  woohoo!

and this is with NO EXERCISE!!

hope you all paid attention to Lindys Lesson’s – try it,

Legends are made in the kitchen!

🙂

One comment

  1. Excelloent website. Lots of hlpful info here.
    I’m senmding it to a few friends anns alsoo shariong
    iin delicious. Annd obviously, hanks iin youir sweat!

    Like

Love to hear your thoughts!

