T minus approx 12 hours…

ok here we go again – shoulder number two goes under the knife tomorrow at 11:30am.

hmmm…

I think I’m more nervous about this one than the last one – maybe its because I know what to expect this time.

I’ll get there and check in then I’ll be trollied to the waiting room where I’ll have to put on those delightful tea bag bloomers and compression suspenders – no more photos! nobody needs to see that a second time! 🙂

then they’ll knock me out and I’ll wake up at some point later and be really thirsty – like on comp day, but I wont be able to drink because my throat won’t work from the anaesthetic and I’ll end up breathing the water instead.

After about an hour they’ll wheel me to my room and I’ll probably sleep for the rest of the day. Mind you I was quite perky last time and my appetite certainly didn’t suffer! just as well  my brother smuggled in that grilled chicken! 🙂

maybe I’ll take my laptop this time – I have the rest of series 1 of Downton Abbey to watch and all of series 2 as well as the Christmas special!

thats my brothers fault he got me on to it whilst I was up in Sydney!

The only bit I’m really dreading is when the drugs wear off in the middle of the night – that was excruciating last time – the nurses couldn’t fill me full of morphine quickly enough!

apart from that it should be relatively easy – drugs and sleep! 🙂

I was trying to decide if I’d be classified as a paraplegic after this –  things you take for granted…like getting dressed cause a lot of pain in my left shoulder because I can’t raise my arm to the side, front or across my body. Sitting at my computer at work and reaching forward to type on the keyboard triggers shooting pains and crunching in the joint.

Any movement that engages the front shoulder muscles is very awkward. Even by the end of the day if I haven’t had my arm resting in a sling, the sheer weight of my arm hanging from my shoulder makes it very sore all the way down to my elbow.

Training of course is going to be very difficult. Today I was pretty much restricted to stair intervals – having done heavy legs/hammies/glutes/calves/abs at the weekend I didn’t want to do them again.

Next week is going to be even worse – I had my left arm in the sling at training today to prevent me from using it as a counterbalance or leverage when doing 3 steps at a time or frog jumps up 3 steps, but at least I’ve had my right arm to be able to stabilise myself holding on to the handles on the leg press or leg extension machine – next week I wont be able to do that as, anything that involves pulling or pressure on my left arm feels like its tearing the whole arm off!

its going to be a challenge thats for sure, but I have to think thats its for the best. I couldn’t keep going with my shoulders the way they were as I wasn’t able to do any heavy training with them at all last year, at best I was just maintaining and I was in constant pain. If this just fixes the pain aspect then that is progress and once I get through rehab then getting back into some real training is actually something to look forward to – I’m curious to see what sort of progression I can make…and how quickly!

within reason of course! Much as I want to get back into comp mode, I’m not going to do anything stupid…

blimey….

that would be a first for me! 🙂

time to be more princess than mad dog…

Before then though, I’ve got veggies to chop and meat to bake whilst I still have one good arm!

see you on the other side!

🙂

Love to hear your thoughts!

